Always Question, Always Strive…

Maybe it’s the Political Film and Propaganda class I took this semester, or my constant mind for government conspiracy, but for the greater part of my adult life I’ve had problems simply accepting the news spoon fed to me via major news networks. The freshest scoop? Osama Bin Laden. “Finally” dead.

My first concern lies in the response of the majority. Though I can understand that many of those celebrating the death of Bin Laden are celebrating the closure, some the destruction where they suffered destruction, others the perceived hope his death brings to our nation. I, on the other hand, have a difficult time celebrating death at the expense of the deceased, no matter who they are.

My heart goes out to those who have lost sons, daughters, mothers and fathers to this war. My heart goes out to both our Nation and it’s healing scars, as well as to the Middle East, in hopes they too can heal from this sad, long war. To the families that lost loved ones in the attack on 9/11. To the children left without family in tumultuous Middle East due to American bombings. To those who have suffered from the many car bombings there and throughout Europe. My heart goes to all during this difficult, time of bittersweet proportions.

But is it an accident that this news, after a decade of searching for this man, has made it big during the most difficult economic times this country has faced since the Great Depression? Is it interesting to anyone else that this “death” occurred when Obama needs the support of America more than ever before? Is there any possibility that, honestly, this could be staged to some degree to harness the support of the Americans, to bring them together against a common enemy, long enough for Americans to support further radical changes made by our government in the near future?

Mind you, I don’t know where I stand on the Obama situation. I normally have great difficulty choosing sides and, to the avail of my father, have little interest in politics. My interest lies in healing these nations, these relationships, these connections for a better future. My interest lies in a brighter future. One of peace. How we get there is of ultimate importance. “It’s not the destination, but the journey that matters.”

But mark my words, there is something behind this. We can see it as “good” or “bad” or we can learn to accept that either way, what we have to deal with ultimately “IS.” That is all we can really be sure of. Where we go as a nation, a world, from here is dependent upon our perspective and how that perspective shapes our actions in the coming months and years.

In the words of the late, great Mother Teresa: “I will never attend an anti-war rally; if you have a peace rally, invite me.”

We can pretend that de-humanizing a sect of people makes the killing of them justified and we can celebrate this act of violence and we can relish it and say that it makes us “proud to be American.”

Oleg Korolev- Micheal

Or we can pause, reflect on life and understand that, no matter how different or distant, it is life and deserves to be respected, if only for that. Maybe this approach would bring us more peace than we once thought possible. Maybe pretending that killing is justified in the name of our beliefs and values, is what got us into this mess as a nation in the first place, and a new, positive perspective should be tried on for size?

Our nation’s Christian population is monumental. Let’s put it this way. Would Christ support a violent solution to our problems? We are all equal, it’s time to start seeing the world differently if we expect positive change to occur. It’s time to re-shape old beliefs by taking an honest approach and refusing to see things the way we are told to. Sometimes, we have to get rid of the old to make room for the new, and I’m not suggesting that it’s time for a yard sale.

It’s time to wake up America! Let’s stop being led by the “man behind the curtain,” know what you believe. If you don’t, now is a great time to figure it out, and don’t worry, you aren’t alone. This should be a time of great soul searching for us all.

In the meantime, let’s do our best to raise the vibration of this country anyway we can. I ask, please, for your support on May 7th, 2011 at 2pm PST. At this time let us all pray for direction and focus in the months to come. Let us pray for guidance, that we be led down the path that is in the best interest of ourselves and our country and that God helps us to remain open to this guidance at all costs. Let us focus for five minutes (or more if you can!) on healing this nation, and world, by visualizing peace on Earth. Let us send love to the WORLD not just our nation. Let us pray that we can come together to be a springboard for the love of the divine on this Earth and in this Universe.

Lords Prayer, from the original Aramaic 
Translation by Neil Douglas-Klotz in “Prayers of the Cosmos”

O Birther! Father- Mother of the Cosmos

Focus your light within us – make it useful.

Create your reign of unity now-

through our fiery hearts and willing hands

Help us love beyond our ideals

and sprout acts of compassion for all creatures.

Animate the earth within us: we then

feel the Wisdom underneath supporting all.

Untangle the knots within

so that we can mend our hearts’ simple ties to each other.

Don’t let surface things delude us,

But free us from what holds us back from our true purpose.

Out of you, the astonishing fire,

Returning light and sound to the cosmos.

Amen.


About brittanymonaghan

I am an extremely blessed wife and mother of three who has somehow managed to end up doing exactly what she always dreamed of, but never really believed was possible. I have always been interested in metaphysical and paranormal topics. I'm the odd girl who chases things that go bump in the night. I've found myself deeply drawn to energy work, healing and counseling. I love working with my clients to help them see the bigger picture, allowing them to maneuver through life's more challenging times, with more insight and perspective. I am a full time student working on a Psychology degree but I am also pursuing further education in energy healing and herbalism. After many strange experiences over the course of my life I finally chose empowerment over fear and learned to develop my intuitive skills so that I could learn to better control them. I can not tell you how this has changed my life, and the lives of many others, over the course of the last three years. I offer psychic and spiritual advice on any topic including relationships, finances, life coaching, grief, life purpose, past life insights and more. In the course of a reading it is not unusual for deceased loved one's or even pets to come through. I am also co-founder of a paranormal research group called North Idaho Paranormal Society. If you suspect a haunting in your home we can come in, record evidence and attempt to answer any questions, or offer any guidance, completely free of charge. Do not hesitate to contact me at orange.rae@gmail.com with questions! I charge only $60 for a typical, one-hour reading but am also flexible on party rates as well as readings by email. I use an oracle deck as a divination tool as needed.
This entry was posted in Circle of Spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Always Question, Always Strive…

  1. Leslie says:

    This really hit home, Brit! I, too, had skeptical thoughts when I heard the news. I have found that our news reporting is , shall we say, slanted? I prefer to listen/watch BBC news – I feel that they report much more unbiased and fairly. I, too, have been feeling the heaviness of our times weighing mightily upon me. Prayer, prayer, prayer –

    • I’m glad I’m not alone on this Leslie! Let’s look to the future together, right? I also listen to BBC news, my husband loves Prairie Home Companion so that station is always on. And yes…pray pray PRAY!

Leave a Reply

