A Tribute to the Multi-Faceted and Glorious Rob Brezsny

I wanted to take a minute to salute one of my living and most beloved guides, Rob Brezsny. He is a jewel of humanity with his loving and playful take on the world around us (physical and unseen). He has opened me up to a part of myself that I didn’t realize I was so disconnected from, my inner child. Plus he always, ALWAYS manages to brighten my mood when I am losing hope in all of mankind.

If it weren’t for him and his writings in The Televisionary Oracle, I may never have connected with my playful guide “Hawthorn,” and so, this is also for him and his perception-altering presence in my life!

The following are some of my favorite quotes by Rob Brezsny, many from his amazing book, PRONOIA Is the Antidote for Paranoia: How the Whole World Is Conspiring to Shower You with Blessings. Get more information on Rob and his wonderful books and astrology here: http://www.freewillastrology.com – You won’t regret it!

“Traditionally, the Seven Deadly Sins — actions most likely to wound the soul — are pride, lust, gluttony, anger, envy, sloth, and covetousness.

But we have formulated a fresh set of soul-­harmers, the Four Foolish Virtues. They are as follows: (1) being analytical to such extremes that you repress your intuition; (2) sacrificing your pleasure through a compulsive attachment to duty; (3) tolerating excessive stress because you assume it helps you accomplish more; (4) being so knowledgeable that you neglect to be curious.

Are you victimized by any of these Four Foolish Virtues? If so, what are you going to do about it?”

“Only you can prevent the genocide of the imagination.”

“Go to a mirror and play with your face until you create the Fabulous Smirk. Not the Arrogant Smirk or the Vengeful Smirk or the Hateful, Whiny, Passive-Aggressive Smirk. Rather, express the Smirk that Passeth All Understanding. The Wise, Charitable, Forbearing Smirk. The Uber-Smirk that says, “I’ve figured out what everyone’s hiding, and I love them anyway.”

“Imagine that the whole world belongs to you.  The birch trees in New Hampshire’s White Mountains are yours, and so are the cirrus clouds in the western sky at dusk and the black sand on the beaches of Hawaii’s big island.  You own everything, my dear sovereign – the paintings in all the museums of the world, as well as the internet and the wild horses and the roads.

Please take good care of it all, OK?  Be an enlightened monarch who treats your domain with reverent responsibility.  And make sure you also enjoy the full measure of fun that comes with such mastery.  Glide through life as if all of creation is yearning to honor and entertain you.”

“In its wild state, the truth is fluid, slippery, vagrant, scrambled, promiscuous, kaleidoscopic, and beautiful.”

“Dumb suffering is the kind of suffering you’re compulsively drawn back to over and over again out of habit. It’s familiar, and thus perversely comfortable. Smart suffering is the kind of pain that surprises you with valuable teachings and inspires you to see the world with new eyes.

While stupid suffering is often born of fear, wise suffering is typically stirred up by love. The dumb, unproductive stuff comes from allowing yourself to be controlled by your early conditioning and from doing things that are out of harmony with your essence. The smart, useful variety arises out of an intention to approach life as an interesting work of art and uncanny game that’s worthy of your curiosity.”

And lastly, because this one really hit home for me, given the topic of my previous blog post:

“Refuse to dehumanize anyone, even those who dehumanize you.”

About brittanymonaghan

I am an extremely blessed wife and mother of three who has somehow managed to end up doing exactly what she always dreamed of, but never really believed was possible. I have always been interested in metaphysical and paranormal topics. I'm the odd girl who chases things that go bump in the night. I've found myself deeply drawn to energy work, healing and counseling. I love working with my clients to help them see the bigger picture, allowing them to maneuver through life's more challenging times, with more insight and perspective. I am a full time student working on a Psychology degree but I am also pursuing further education in energy healing and herbalism. After many strange experiences over the course of my life I finally chose empowerment over fear and learned to develop my intuitive skills so that I could learn to better control them. I can not tell you how this has changed my life, and the lives of many others, over the course of the last three years. I offer psychic and spiritual advice on any topic including relationships, finances, life coaching, grief, life purpose, past life insights and more. In the course of a reading it is not unusual for deceased loved one's or even pets to come through. I am also co-founder of a paranormal research group called North Idaho Paranormal Society. If you suspect a haunting in your home we can come in, record evidence and attempt to answer any questions, or offer any guidance, completely free of charge. Do not hesitate to contact me at orange.rae@gmail.com with questions! I charge only $60 for a typical, one-hour reading but am also flexible on party rates as well as readings by email. I use an oracle deck as a divination tool as needed.
This entry was posted in Circle of Spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

