The Future of Green Living: Earthships!

So, around a year ago I was pregnant, puking up my toenails, buried in my couch and looking for distractions. Hello internet and hello Stumbleupon! (Read more about Stumbleupon here – trust me, the toolbar is worth the download, you won’t regret it!)

After much random internet browsing my interest was thoroughly peaked by an article about a man called “Can Dan,” or Dan Phillips, who was busy helping people create low-impact, green homes out of recycled materials. People, these homes are so uniquely beautiful and his message falls in that same category. Check out the video below and see for yourself:

After this article, I couldn’t get it off my mind! For days I didn’t want to throw anything away! ‘I bet I could use it for something…’ I’d think. Now my garage is filled with glass bottles (big and small), coffee cans, soda cans and more. Don’t you envy my husband?

I had this hunger within me that could not be satisfied! Every internet moment I could squeeze out of my day was spent researching green living, building with recycled materials and living off the grid. I couldn’t get enough. And my poor, poor Facebook friends were bombarded with shared links! I force-fed them these links in utter fascination! Why!? Why aren’t we all living like this!? By the end of this post, you might ask yourself the same question!

During my research I came across straw bail homes, shacks, newer homes with “green” supporting add-on’s but my imagination was most awakened by…(drum roll please)…Earthships.

I know, it sounds crazy, futuristic and “outer edge-ish,” and it is! In a good way! On their website, Earthship Biotecture says “An Earthship is a radically sustainable home made of recycled materials.” Radical is right! Earthships, created by architect  Michael Reynolds, are perfect for any type of climate, are incredibly resistant to natural disasters and are extremely self sustainable! But how? And why?!

The foundation of an ES is built using old recycled tires (sometimes people will pay you to take them off their hands!) which are packed full of dirt until they literally become large, heavy and virtually unmovable bricks! They are stacked to create the outside walls of the structure and the base. For walls and such inside the home, aluminum cans are paved into the structure as bricks as well! The wood, stone and glass features in the home are often recycled materials; in fact take a look at how glass bottles are used for beautiful accents and as small windows!

Earthships stay warm during the cold months because the rubber tires collect warmth from the sun and when the temperature outside drops below the temperature of the tires, the warmth of the tires is emitted into the structure. Plus, every ES I’ve come across have multiple custom fireplaces! They also stay cool during the summer because of the actual soil used to pack the tires. Also, because of the sturdy structure, they are earthquake, hurricane, natural disaster resistant!

Earthships have large windows facing the sun which allow for the individual to grow food year round in the home itself. I’ve seen everything from herbs, to vegetables and even fruit trees growing indoors!

They are equip with solar panels on the roof and occasionally, given the unique climate considerations, are also powered by wind. Rain water is collected, stored, filtered and recycled within the structure and used for showering, watering indoor plants, for toilets and irrigating outdoor plants. Even used toilet water is recycled by being cleansed and filtered again and distributed to outdoor plants!

The best part about these homes? They are totally customizable and possible to build for a couple hundred grand or millions of dollars! There are even a few communities of Earthships found in Arizona, New Mexico and overseas in areas of poverty!

So, again, why aren’t we all living in one of these amazing structures? You can bet one day I will be!

It’s not like I’m obsessed and have been collecting these photos for the past year or anything….heh heh. Right?


About brittanymonaghan

I am an extremely blessed wife and mother of three who has somehow managed to end up doing exactly what she always dreamed of, but never really believed was possible. I have always been interested in metaphysical and paranormal topics. I'm the odd girl who chases things that go bump in the night. I've found myself deeply drawn to energy work, healing and counseling. I love working with my clients to help them see the bigger picture, allowing them to maneuver through life's more challenging times, with more insight and perspective. I am a full time student working on a Psychology degree but I am also pursuing further education in energy healing and herbalism. After many strange experiences over the course of my life I finally chose empowerment over fear and learned to develop my intuitive skills so that I could learn to better control them. I can not tell you how this has changed my life, and the lives of many others, over the course of the last three years. I offer psychic and spiritual advice on any topic including relationships, finances, life coaching, grief, life purpose, past life insights and more. In the course of a reading it is not unusual for deceased loved one's or even pets to come through. I am also co-founder of a paranormal research group called North Idaho Paranormal Society. If you suspect a haunting in your home we can come in, record evidence and attempt to answer any questions, or offer any guidance, completely free of charge. Do not hesitate to contact me at orange.rae@gmail.com with questions! I charge only $60 for a typical, one-hour reading but am also flexible on party rates as well as readings by email. I use an oracle deck as a divination tool as needed.
This entry was posted in Circle of Spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Future of Green Living: Earthships!

  1. So just found out you can spend 50K to 150K for a decent sized Earthship and that Montana is turning into an Earthship haven as they don’t require many of the permits needed all over the rest of the US. Woo! So that’s where my Earthship community will be built…

  2. It is actually a great and helpful piece of info. I’m happy that you simply shared this useful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Thanks for taking the time to comment Rudolf! You will keep hearing about this from me, for sure! I can’t stop talking about Earthships ever, just ask my husband 🙂

Leave a Reply

